
 

 

THE STATE OF TEXAS § 

§ 

COUNTY OF WEBB § 

 

ORDER No. ____________________
 

 

ORDER PERTAINING TO COUNTY'S SCOFFLAW PROGRAM 

 
WHEREAS, the County's scofflaw program will be of assistance in collecting unpaid fines and 

fees owed to the County; 

 
WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 502.010 permits the county assessor-collector to refuse 

to register a motor vehicle if it receives information that the owner of the vehicle: 

 
(1) owes the county money for a fine, fee or tax that is past due as therein defined; or 

 
(2) failed to appear in connection with a complaint, citation, information, or indictment in a court 

in the county in which a criminal proceeding is pending against the owner; 

 
WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 702.003, permits a county assessor-collector to refuse to 

register a motor vehicle if the assessor-collector or the department receives under a contract information 

from a municipality that the owner of the vehicle has an outstanding warrant from that municipality for 

failure to appear or failure to pay a fine on a complaint that involves the violation of a traffic law; 

 
WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 502.010, authorizes a county to contract in order to 

provide information to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles necessary to make a determination if a fine, 
fee, or tax is past due; 

 
WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 502.010 permits a county that has a contract with the 

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles in order to provide information to the Texas Department of Motor 

Vehicles necessary to make a determination if a fine, fee, or tax is past due to impose an additional fee of 

$20 to 

(1) a person who fails to pay a fine, fee, or tax to the county by the date on which the fine, fee, 
or tax is due; or 

(2) a person who fails to appear in connection with a complaint, citation, information, or 

indictment in a court in which a criminal proceeding is pending against the owner; 

 

WHEREAS , Transportation Code, Section 702.003 provides that a municipality that has a contract 

with a county in which the municipality is located to provide information to the county assessor-collector 

necessary to make a determination that the owner of the vehicle has an outstanding warrant from that 

municipality for failure to appear or failure to pay a fine on a complaint that involves the violation of a traffic 

law may impose an additional $20 fee to that owner; 

 
WHEREAS, under Transportation Code, Section 502.010 and Section 702.003, the additional fee 

may be used only to reimburse the department or the county assessor-collector for its expenses for providing 

services under the contract, or another county department for expenses related to services under the contract; 

 
WHEREAS, the additional fees imposed by the County or participating municipalities are needed 

to offset the expenses of the service provided for flagging and de-flagging those persons identified as a 

result of past due fines, fees, or taxes or failures to appear as required for County purposes or for 

outstanding warrants for traffic violations or failures to appear for municipal purposes as specified by law 

and is entitled to be collected as a fee for contemporaneous service rendered to enable the owner to 



register the owner's vehicle; 

 
WHEREAS, the County and participating municipalities with an interlocal agreement with the 

County  have  authority  to  impose said  additional  fee under  Transportation  Code, Sections 502.010 and 

702.003 and are given the authority to collect same in the most effective way consistent with law; and 

WHEREAS, the Legislature has not specified the means by which  the fee is to be collected; 

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that pursuant to Section 502.010 of the Texas 

Transportation Code, the Commissioners Court of Webb County imposes the additional fee of Twenty 

Dollars and No Cents ($20.00) to be collected by the county tax assessor-collector to be used for the 

purposes specified therein in accordance with the law. The Tax-Assessor Collector  shall  collect  the County 

imposed additional fee at the time of service and shall notify the owner flagged under the system before the 

owner attends to and pays or otherwise takes measures to clear the past due fines, fees, or taxes or failures to 

appear that the additional fee shall be paid before registration may proceed. Interlocal agreements between 

the County and any participating municipality shall control the col1ection of the additional fee imposed by 

the municipality under Transportation Code, Section 702.003  and  may authorize the Webb County Tax 

Assessor-Collector to collect said fee. Additional fees collected for the County and any participating 

municipalities shall be used for the purposes described by the statute. The Tax Assessor-Collector shall 

prepare a form to be used to evidence the action taken to clear such past due fines, fees, or taxes or 

failures to appear for County purposes or outstanding warrants for traffic   violations or failures to appear 

for municipal purposes clearly stating that the fee is imposed and that actions taken to clear the 

aforementioned county or municipal fines, fees, taxes or failures to appear shall remain subject to the 

payment of the additional fee at the time of the registration service to be rendered to the owner. Upon 

registration of the owner's vehicle, the Tax Assessor Collector shall immediately take action to clear the 

owner's name from the scofflaw information systems used by the Tax Assessor­ Collector. The fee shall 

not be collected from any owner flagged under the scofflaw program due to error or mistake made by County 

or personnel working for a city with an interlocaI agreement with the County for scofflaw program 

enforcement or where, due to court order, all of that owner's flagged fines, fees, taxes, or failures to 

appear have been disposed of without requiring the owner to make an actual payment of money. An 

additional $20.00 fee is imposed on and shall be collected from the owner flagged under the County scofflaw 

program for each fine, fee, tax or failure to appear owed to the County and cleared by actual payment of 

money. An additional $20.00 fee shall be collected from the owner flagged under a municipality's 

interlocal agreement with the County for each outstanding warrant for traffic violations or failures to appear 

owed to the municipality and cleared by the owner's actual payment of money. Where there is more than 

one owner of the same vehicle to be registered or re-registered that owe money to the County or a 

municipality with an interlocal agreement with the County for scofflaw purposes, only one of the co-owners 

shall be required to clear the amount owed prior to registration or re-registration. 

 
ADOPTED this __  day of _____, 2015 by the WEBB COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT. 

 

 

__________________________ 
TANO E. TIJERINA 

County Judge 

 

 

____________________        ____________________                                                                 

Frank Sciaraffa         Rosaura Tijerina 

Commissioner Pct. #1                                                                                                Commissioner Pct. #2 
 
 
 



 
 
 

____________________        ____________________                                                                

John Galo                     Jaime Canales 

Commissioner Pct. #3                                                                                                Commissioner Pct. #4 



  
   

 

                                                                                                                         

                    
 



 

 
 

 


