ORDER No.

THE STATE OF TEXAS §
§
COUNTY OF WEBB §

ORDER PERTAINING TO COUNTY'S SCOFFLAW PROGRAM

WHEREAS, the County's scofflaw program will be of assistance in collecting unpaid fines and
fees owed to the County;

WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 502,010 permits the county assessor-collector to refuse
to register a motor vehicle ifit receives information that the owner of the vehicle:

(1) owesthe county money for a fine, fee or tax that is past due as therein defined; or

{2) failed to appear in connection with a complaint, citation, information, or indictment in a court
in the county in which a criminal proceeding is pending against the owner;

WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 702.003, permits a county assessor-collector (o refuse to
register a motor vehicle if the assessor-collector or the department receives under a contract information
from a municipality that the owner of the vehicle has an outstanding warrant from that municipality for
[ailure to appear or failure to pay a fine on a complaint that involves the violation of a traffic law:

WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 302.010, authorizes a county to contract in order to
provide information to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles necessary to make a determination if a fine,
fee, or tax is past due;

WHEREAS, Transportation Code, Section 502,010 permits a county that has a contract with the
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles in order to provide information to the Texas Department of Motor
Vehicles necessary to make a determination if a fine, fee, or tax is past due to impose an additional fee of
$2010

(1) a person who fails to pay a fine. fee, or tax to the county by the date on which the fine, fee,

or tax is due; or

{2)a person who fails to appear in connection with a complaint, citation, information, or

indictment in a court in which a criminal proceeding is pending against the owner;

WHEREAS |, Transportation Code, Section 702.003 provides that a municipality that has a contract
with a county in which the municipality is located to provide information to the county assessor-collector
necessary to make a determination that the owner of the vehicle has an outstanding warrant from that
municipality for failure to appear or failure to pay a fine on a complaint that involves the violation of' a traffic
law may impose an additional $20 fee to that owner,

WHEREAS. under Transportation Code, Section 502,010 and Section 702.003, the additional fee
may be used only to reimburse the department or the county assessor-collector for its expenses for providing
services under the contract, or another county department for expenses related to services under the contract;

WHEREAS, the additional fees imposed by the County or participating municipalities are needed
to offset the expenses of the service provided for flagging and de-flagging those persons identified as a
result of past due fines, fees. or taxes or failures to appear as required for County purposes or for
outstanding warrants for traffic violations or Tailures 1o appear for municipal purposes as specified by law
and is entitled to be collected as a fee for contemporaneous service rendered to enable the owner




register the owner's vehicle:

WHEREAS, the County and participating municipalities with an interlocal agreement with the
County have authority to impose said additional fee under Transportation Code, Sections 502,010 and
702,003 and are given the authority to collect same in the most effective way consistent with law; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature has not specified the means by which the fee is to be collected;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that pursuant to Section 502.010 of the Texas
Transportation Code, the Commissioners Court of Webb County imposes the additional fee of Twenty
Dollars and No Cents ($20.00) to be collected by the county tax assessor-collector to be used for the
purposes specified therein in accordance with the law. The Tax-Assessor Collector shall collect theCounty
imposed additional fee at the time of service and shall notify the owner flagged under the systembefore the
owner attends to and pays or otherwise takes measures to clear the past due fines, fees, or taxesor failures to
appear that the additional fee shall be paid before registration may proceed. Interlocal agreements between
the County and any participating municipality shall control the collection ofthe additional fee imposed by
the municipality under Transportation Code, Section 702.003 and may authorize the Webb County Tax
Assessor-Collector to collect said fee. Additional fees collected forthe County and any participating
municipalities shall be used for the purposes described by the statute. The Tax Assessor-Collector shall
prepare a form to be used to evidence the action taken to clear suchpast due fines, fees. or taxes or
failures to appear for County purposes or outstanding warrants for traffic violations or failures to appear
for municipal purposes clearly stating that the fee is imposed and thatactions taken to clear the
aforementioned county or municipal fines, fees, taxes or failures to appear shall remain subject to the
payment of the additional fee at the time of the registration service to be rendered tothe owner. Upon
registration of the owner's vehicle, the Tax Assessor Collector shall immediately takeaction to clear the
owner's name from the scofllaw information systems used by the Tax Assessor-Collector, The fee shall
not be collected from any owner flagged under the scofflaw program due to erroror mistake made by County
or personnel working for a city with an interlocal agreement with the Countyfor scofflaw program
enforcement or where, due to court order, all of that owner's flagged fines, fees.taxes, or failures to
appear have been disposed of without requiring the owner to make an actual paymentof money. An
additional $20.00 fee is imposed on and shall be collected from the owner flagged under theCounty scofflaw
program for each fine, fee, tax or failure to appear owed to the County and cleared byactual payment of
money. An additional $20.00 fee shall be collected from the owner flagged under amunicipality's
interlocal agreement with the County for each outstanding warrant for traffic violations orfailures to appear
owed to the municipality and cleared by the owner's actual payment of money. Wherethere is more than
one owner of the same vehicle to be registered or re-registered that owe money to theCounty or a
municipality with an interlocal agreement with the County for scofflaw purposes, only one of the co-owners
shall be required to clear the amount owed prior to registration or re-registration.
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APPROVED AS TO FORM:
=

Marco A. Montemayor
Webb County Attorney

*By law, the county attorney's office may only advise or
approve contracts or legal documents on behall of its
clients. It may not advise or approve a contract or legal
document on behalf of other parties. Our review of this
document was conducted solely from the legal
perspective of our client. Our approval of this document
was offered solely for the benefit of our client. Other
parties should not rely on this approval, and should

seek review and approval of their own respective
attorney(s).




