STATE OF TEXAS

LAW ENFORCEMENT CONTRACT
COUNTY OF WEBB

LN L L

This contract is made and entered into by and between the COUNTY OF WEBB
(COUNTY), a political subdivision of Texas, and Ruben Garza, Jr. (“CONTRACTOR?”)

WITNESSETH

1. Scope of Service. CONTRACTOR shall provide the Webb County Sheriff’s Office with
specialized training for law enforcement personnel, provide support with ongoing and
future investigations, provide recommendations on where and how to reduce the number
of potentially infected livestock if any are discovered, and serve as an advisor/liaison
with federal, state, and local law enforcement authorities in, provide reports,
documentation and photographs with applicable that demonstrate Equine Infectious
Anemia (“EIA’) which include recommendations concerning enforcement procedures,
investigations, and cases affecting Webb County and any other matters that pertain to the
mission and goals of the Webb County Sheriff’s Office as directed and approved by the
Webb County Sheriff (“SHERIFF”).

This agreement is for the professional services as a advisor/liaison for the detection and
enforcement of Texas Agricultural Code Chapter 161 and Texas Administrative Code
Title 4 Part 2 Chapter 49 which addresses a deadly virus that infects livestock known as
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA).

2. Performance. For the performance of the work by CONTRACTOR, the COUNTY
agrees to pay CONTRACTOR for all services approved by the SHERIFF, fora
sum not to exceed $9,000.00. Said payments shall be made in monthly increments in
an amount of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) per month after services
have been rendered and an invoice delivered to the Webb County Business Office at
apinvoices@webbcountytx.gov. CONTRACTOR acknowledges that by law the
COUNTY may not issue payment to or offset amounts due to CONTRACTOR under
this contract against any debt (including taxes) lawfully due to COUNTY from
CONTRACTOR. CONTRACTOR’S debts owed to the COUNTY in any form must be
paid and not delinquent in order for the COUNTY to issue payment for services.

3. Term. The term of this contract shall be effective February 1, 2020 through July 31,
2020. The work is to be completed for the COUNTY as specified in a written order to
proceed from the SHERIFF.



Compensation. Compensation to the CONTRACTOR (Ruben Garza, Jr.) will be on a
monthly basis at the satisfactory completion of that month’s activity. The contract work

shall be on a fixed-price contract basis, not to exceed $9,000.00; paid on a monthly basis
at $1,500.00 per month.

Billing/Invoicing. At the end of each month, work performed will be outlined in an
invoice stating the month being billed and a general description of all work performed
for that month. The CONTRACTOR will not be required to detail any sensitive law
enforcement data that may jeopardize any ongoing or potential investigations which
CONTRACTOR is working and any billed work must be approved by the SHERIFF
prior to payment.

Non-Appropriations. COUNTY warrants that it will have funds available to pay all
payments until the end of your contract, and shall use our best efforts to obtain funds to
pay all payments in each subsequent fiscal period through the end of your term. If our
appropriations request to our legislative body, or funding authority (“*Governing Body™)
for funds to pay the payments is denied, you may terminate this contract on the last day
of the fiscal period for which funds have been appropriated, upon (i) submission of
documentation evidencing the Governing Body’s denial of an appropriation sufficient to
continue the contract for the next succeeding fiscal period, and (ii) satisfaction of all
charges and obligations under this contract incurred through the end of the fiscal period
for which funds have been appropriated including the return of any equipment.

Termination. The SHERIFF may terminate the performance of this contract in whole or
in part with a ten (10) day advance written notice to CONTRACTOR. COUNTY agrees
to pay CONTRACTOR for all services approved by the SHERIFF that were completed
prior to the effective date of such notice.

Indemnification. CONTRACTOR agrees to defend, indemnify and hold COUNTY, its
officers, agents and employees, harmless against any and all claims, lawsuits, judgments,
costs and expenses for personal injury (including death), property damage or other harm
for which recovery of damages is sought, suffered by any person or persons, that may
arise out of or be occasioned by CONTRACTOR's breach of any of the terms or
provisions of this contract, or by any negligent or strictly liable act or omission of
CONTRACTOR, its officers, agents, associates, employees or sub-contractors, in the
performance of this contract; except that the indemnity provided for in this paragraph
shall not apply to any liability resulting from the sole negligence of COUNTY, its
officers, agents, employees or separate contractors, and in the event of joint and
concurrent negligence of both the CONTRACTOR and COUNTY, responsibility, if any,
shall be apportioned comparatively in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas,
without waiving any governmental immunity available to the COUNTY under Texas law
and without waiving any defenses of the parties under Texas law. The provisions of this



paragraph are solely for the benefit of the parties hereto and are not intended to create or
grant any rights, contractual or otherwise, to any other person or entity.

Jurisdiction/Venue. This contract is made subject to the laws of Texas and authority of
the WEBB COUNTY, TEXAS, as amended, and all applicable Constitutional provisions
of the State of Texas. This contract is performable in Webb County, Texas, and venue
for any legal action under this contract shall lie exclusively in Webb County, Texas. In
construing this contract, the laws and court decisions of the State of Texas shall control.

Work Product Waiver. All of CONTRACTOR's work product under this contract shall
become the property of the COUNTY, without restriction on future use. Copies may be
retained by CONTRACTOR. By execution of this contract and in consideration of the
fee for services to be paid under the contract, CONTRACTOR hereby conveys, transfers
and assigns to COUNTY all rights under the Federal Copyright Act of 1976 (or any
successor copyright statute), as amended, all common law copyrights and all other
intellectual property rights acknowledged by law in the training materials and other
agreed deliverables developed under this contract. CONTRACTOR shall retain all
records relating to this contract for three (3) years following termination, during which
time COUNTY reserves the right to audit such records at its election.

Independent Contractor. In performing services under this contract, the relationship
between County and CONTRACTOR is that of an independent contractor.
CONTRACTOR shall exercise independent judgment in performing duties under this
contract and is solely responsible for setting working hours, scheduling or prioritizing
the work flow and determining how the work is to be prepared. No term or provision of
this Contract shall be construed as making CONTRACTOR the agent, servant or
employee of COUNTY, or making CONTRACTOR or any of its employees eligible for
the fringe benefits, such as retirement, insurance and worker's compensation, which
COUNTY provides its employees.

This contract consists of sections 1-9. It constitutes the entire contract of the parties on
the subject matter hereof and may not be changed, modified, discharged, or extended
except by written instrument duly executed by COUNTY as described in Section 4.
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*By law, the Webb County Civil Division
Office may only advise or approve contracts or
legal documents on behalf of its clients. It may
not advise or approve a contract or legal
document on behalf of other parties. Our
review of this document was conducted solely
from the legal perspective of our client. Our
approval of this document was offered solely
for the benefit of our client. Other parties
should not rely on this approval, and should
seek review and approval of their own
respective attorney(s).
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What is Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA)?

Equine infectious anemia (EIA) is an incurable, infectious
disease caused by a virus that can affect horses, donkeys,
asses and other equine. This virus destroys red blood cells
and is spread through blood-to-blood contact, not through close
proximity or casual contact. The virus can be transmitted from
an infected equine to a “clean” equine by biting flies, the use of
unsterilized or contaminated medical instruments, or through a
blood transfusion. This disease does not affect humans.

Depending on the equine animal’s disease resistance, the
virus’ ability to cause disease and stress factors, EIA can
appear in one of three forms:

* Acute

* Chronic

* Inapparent

Acute

An equine responding acutely may develop fever, go off feed
or die suddenly. Acute responses generally occur seven to 30
days after initial exposure to the virus. The animal may test
negative for EIA for 16 to 42 days because its immune system
has not yet produced detectable antibodies.

Chronic

Chronically infected equine test positive and may develop
symptoms, such as weight loss, weakness, anemia and
swelling of the lower legs, chest and abdomen. Symptoms
subside, but may reoccur.

Inapparent

Inapparent infected equine show no outward symptoms, but
test positive for the disease. These animals pose the greatest
danger of spreading EIA because they show no outward signs
of disease creating a risk for unsuspecting equine owners.

Texas Law

Since September 1, 1999, the 76th Texas Legislature’s House
Bill 1732 has been in effect. This bill created the EIA program
in Texas

This Texas law requires that ALL equine animals, except
zebras, eight months of age or older have a negative EIA
test within the previous 12 months before undergoing any
change-of-ownership with the exemptions listed separately.
TAHC regulations DO require zebras entering Texas to have
had a negative EIA test within the previous 12 months and
a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) also known as a
health certificate, issued within the past 30 days unless they
are moving between approved zoos. All zebras, including
those from Texas, must have had a negative EIA test within the
previous 12 months, when entering shows, fairs, exhibitions or
other assemblies.

Failure to comply with the law is a Class “C” misdemeanor.
The Texas Animal Health Commission’s (TAHC) regulations
also were amended to coincide with this law.

Exempt from the change-of-ownership testing

requirement:

» Nursing foals, transferred with their dam, if the dam has
tested negative for EIA within the previous 12 months

» Equine less than eight months old

Q: Can untested equine be tested at a market?

A: Yes, but call the market before you haul. The United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA) has specific guidelines for
“off-site” EIA labs at sale facilities. Some markets may not have
an approved EIA laboratory on-site. EIA test results may be
available in only a few hours.

If the market does not have a laboratory, an accredited
veterinarian can draw a blood sample from the animal and
send it to any of Texas’ many USDA-approved laboratories.
Results are generally available in three to five days.

Q: What if my equine tests positive?

A: You may opt to have the equine animal retested by
requesting a retest in writing. At that time, another blood
sample will be drawn by state/federal personnel only and sent
to the State-Federal Laboratory for confirmatory testing.

If the positive results were revealed at the livestock market or

at another site away from the premise of origin, you must take
your equine home under quarantine and under a restricted

Continued on next page



movement permit, called a USDA form VS 1-27. The VS 1-27
may be issued by an accredited veterinarian or authorized
state and federal personnel. All equine on the premise with the
positive animal will be initially restricted.

If the confirmatory test is positive, equine shall be identified
with a “74-A” freeze or fire-brand on the upper left shoulder
or neck within 10 days unless the animal is euthanized. (See
picture of 74-A brand on the next page)

Infected equine animals may only move otherwise to an
approved diagnostic or research facility, or be returned to the
premise of origin.

Q: What about an EIA quarantine? What’s needed for
quarantine release?

A: All equine animals that shared the premise with, or were
otherwise exposed to the ElA-infected equine, will be placed
under quarantine and must be tested for EIA. TAHC personnel
may draw the blood sample and send it to the State-Federal
Laboratory at no charge, or an accredited veterinarian may
draw the sample at the owner’s expense.

TAHC personnel will conduct an epidemiological investigation
to determine the equine’'s movement history, when they
have commingled with other equine animals, insect control
measures, and other information relating to the spread of the
disease.

Quarantine release depends on two factors:

1. The last infected equine on the premise must be moved
from the site under a TAHC-issued VS 1-27 permit to one
of the restricted destinations previously discussed, or
euthanized by the owner’s veterinarian.

2. Atleast60days after last exposure to the infected animal(s),
the equine remaining on the premise must be retested. If
all tests are negative, the TAHC will release the quarantine.

Q: Can | keep my equine if it tested positive for EIA?

A: Because an infected equine is considered to be the only
reservoir of this disease, it is best to remove the animal from
the equine population. If it must be kept, the animal is to
be permanently quarantined at least 200 yards from other
equine. All other equine on the premise will also remain under
quarantine until the infected animal is isolated or they are
tested negative 60 days after removal. A quarterly inspection of
the quarantined premises will be performed by the TAHC for as
long as the infected equine remains on the premise to ensure
the animal has not left or commingled with other equine.

Q: What do we need for Texas shows, fairs, trail rides,
rodeos or any other equine-related assemblies held within
the state?

A: Texas equine participating in Texas events must have a
negative EIA test, performed by a private practitioner, within
the past 12 months. The EIA test document completed by a
vet is called a VS 10-11 and is official proof of testing. Horse
owners should keep this document handy when traveling with
the horse.

Q: Who is responsible for ensuring that equine animals
participating in events have been tested and are
accompanied by an EIA document?

A: The person or group in charge of the event is responsible
for

ensuring that all equine animals are accompanied with a valid
VS 10-11 EIA test document. The person and/or persons
responsible for checking the VS 10-11 test document should
look for the test date and the animal’s description and compare
it to the equine animal being hauled. Boarding facilities, training
stables and pastures must ensure that all equine have a valid
negative test.

Q: What is an Equine Passport?

A: Equine may enter Texas and move within the state on an
equine passport or ID card, in lieu of a CVI (health certificate).
The passport is valid for 6 months and eliminates the need for
a new health certificate every 30 days.

The negative test chart (VS 10-11) must be presented with the
passport, when requested. The passport js not valid, however,
for entry into Texas pari-mutuel race tracks.

Q: What if an untested equine is presented at an event or
the VS 10-11 doesn’t match the animal?

A: TAHC regulations prohibit the entry of untested equine at
events, as it could jeopardize the health of all equine at the
event. Keep untested equine at least 200 yards from the event
or have the owner take the animal back to its premise of origin
until it is tested.

Q: What do | need to do if | am boarding my horse at a
stable?

A: Ensure that your horse has a negative 12 month test current
at all times, and also inquire to management to ensure all other
horses in the facility are also tested negative, and the stable
has a process in place to ensure that.

Information provided by the
Texas Animal Health Commission
P.O. Box 12966-2966

Austin, TX 78711
800-550-8242
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